St James The Apostle Parish


What is a sacrament?  A sacrament is an outward expression of an inward grace.  We know that Jesus Christ instituted the sacraments.  There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony.  The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christians life of faith. (CCC1210)


The Sacraments are broken into three groups:

Sacraments of InitiationBaptism, Confirmation and Eucharist

Sacraments of HealingAnointing of The Sick and Reconciliation

Sacraments of ServiceHoly Orders and Matrimony

Parent Handbook


The purpose of our guide is to assist and serve our parishioners as they receive and celebrate the sacraments.    Therefore, we ask you to consider your needs as well as the guidelines we are presenting. 

These policies refer to “registered members.”  This term is defined as someone who has completed an online registration form and is active in the parish.

In instances where one of our parishioners request a letter of eligibility from St. James to serve as a sponsor at another parish, we require that they become registered members of St. James before they can receive this letter.